The Fred and Barbara Borga Award supports undergraduate students at the University of Arizona who are majoring in Religious Studies with a concentration in Religious Studies for Health Professionals

The Borga Award has been established in memory of Fred and Barbara Borga through the generosity of their son Ross Schwartzberg. The amount of the award varies from year to year. Awards typically range between $1,000-$2000.

Eligibility Requirements:

  • Must be a Religious Studies Major with a concentration in Religious Studies for Health Professionals
  • ...

Religious Studies majors are eligible to apply for the SILLC Global Award, which provides recipients with $1,500 to participate in a UA-approved study abroad program or internship abroad program. Religious Studies majors planning to travel abroad can apply for both the SILLC Global Award and the Donna Swaim International Award (see above).

The application deadline is every January.

For more information, visit

The John Likins Memorial Scholarship supports an incoming freshman from a Tucson area high school, majoring in any field related to gender, race, religion, ethnicity, or area studies at the University of Arizona. The award must be used toward tuition and educational expenses. The amount of the award varies from year to year, depending on the annual distribution from the endowment, which is held at the Jewish Community Foundation. Amounts range between $1,000-1,200.

Applicants do NOT need to be a Judaic Studies major or minor.

This scholarship has been made possible by the Peter and Patricia Likins’ Family, the Jewish Federation of Southern Arizona, and the...

Applications are now being accepted at LSB 203 through January 29, 2019 at 5:00 p.m.

NOTE: Applicants are also required to apply for the SILLC Global Award, due on January 22, 2019. See:

The Donna Swaim International Award for Religious Studies enables academically-prepared Religious Studies majors to study the religions of the world in the context of their cultures, through study abroad opportunities. This fund was established in 2014, to honor Professor Donna Swaim’s 50...

Applications for the Rombach and Bretall Scholarships are due every November.


Applications are now being taken for the Rombach and Bretall Scholarshipsfor the academic year 2018-2019. The application deadline is November 16, 2018. Scholarship applications should be submitted to the front desk in Learning Services Building 203. If you received a Rombach or Bretall  scholarship in the past we would remind you that it is non-renewable and you are not eligible for another scholarship. One scholarship per person.

Religious Studies majors have...